

Funding of applicants from non-EU countries & international organisations

Version 1.0 14 February 2014



Horizon 2020-Open to the world!

These guidelines cover projects involving cooperation between several partner organisations.

There is a separate set of rules for programmes with a single partner organisation, such as European Research Council awards.

General rule

Applicants from non-EU countries (you may also encounter the term "third country" to describe these countries) are **always free to** *take part* in Horizon 2020 programmes – even if the call for proposals or topic text do not state this explicitly.

They are **not always automatically entitled to funding**.

All applications must meet the minimum conditions in the Rules for Participation.

What does 'non-EU countries' or 'third countries' mean?

This means any country/territory that is **not one of the following**:

- an EU country
- an overseas country or territory linked to an EU country

Applicants from non-EU countries fall into 2 categories:

- those automatically eligible for funding
- those **not automatically eligible** for funding (though they may still be funded in exceptional cases)

1) Automatically eligible non-EU applicants.

Applicants based in any of the countries listed here are automatically eligible for funding under the Horizon 2020 budget:

Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, American Samoa, Angola, Argentina, Armenia, Azerbaijan

Bangladesh, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi

Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, Colombia, Comoros, Congo (Democratic Republic), Congo (Republic), Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Cuba

Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic

Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Eritrea, Ethiopia

Fiji

Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana

Haiti, Honduras

Indonesia, Iran, Iraq

Jamaica, Jordan

Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Korea (Democratic Republic), Kosovo, Kyrgyz Republic

Lao, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya

Macedonia FYR, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar/Burma

Namibia, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria

Pakistan, Palau, Palestine, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines

Rwanda

Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Syrian Arab Republic

Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu

Uganda, Ukraine, Uruguay, Uzbekistan

Vanuatu, Venezuela, Vietnam

Yemen

Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Additionally, any applicant based in a country which is **Associated to Horizon 2020** is **automatically eligible** for funding.

2) Non-EU applicants that are NOT automatically eligible.

Applicants from other non-EU countries may be granted funding if:

- Funding is provided for in a bilateral scientific/technological agreement or similar arrangement between the EU and the country where the applicant is based.
- The **call for proposals** clearly states that applicants based in such countries are eligible for funding.
- Their participation is deemed **essential for carrying out the action** by the Commission or the relevant funding body because it provides:
 - outstanding competence/expertise
 - o access to research infrastructure
 - o access to particular geographical environments
 - access to data.

Funding for international organisations

International organisations, the majority of whose members are Member States or associated countries, and whose principal objective is to promote scientific and technological cooperation in Europe, are automatically eligible. Other organisations may be eligible if:

- Funding is provided for in a bilateral scientific/technological agreement or similar arrangement between the EU and the organisation.
- Their participation is deemed essential for carrying out the action as outlined above.

Specific Advice for applicants from non-EU countries

When is it mandatory for a consortium to include non-EU participants?

Some calls require a consortium to include participants based in specific non-EU countries in order to be eligible. If so, this requirement (and the countries concerned) will be specified in the applicable call for proposals and topic description.

How do I register?

Before being able to sign a grant agreement, you must register via the <u>beneficiary registration tool</u>.

Registration (and the subsequent validation by the Commission/Agency) may take a while. When submitting a proposal, you should therefore:

- check which documents are needed for registration
- register as soon as funding becomes likely.

What legal status and financial capacity are needed?

You must:

- be an individual or organisation/institution constituted under the national law of the country where you are based
- have the financial capacity to carry out the research tasks set out in your proposal.

More information is available on the Horizon 2020 Participant Portal